(h)our oakview

Well, it is January 1st 2013 and I am sitting here wondering where 2012 went. Last night we rang in the new year with family and friends. Counting down the final ten seconds of 2012 made me ache in my gut that I should have and could have accomplished much more than I did this year. Sort of like the end of the school year where I always feel like I haven’t taught my students enough.

After purchasing my new (old) home in April of 2012, I feel as though I haven’t been able to accomplish as much as I had originally intended. Sure, we managed to paint most of the house and replace 90% of the carpet with nice laminate, but I can’t help but feel that so many of my free hours have been wasted away on facebook, pinterest, and who knows what else. When do I stop pinning and start actually doing? When I talk to others about everything I want to accomplish in the house, the usual response is…”Take your time! You’ve got plenty of time to get those things done.” But that’s just it, I don’t want to spend years thinking about everything I am GOING to do in my dream house. I want to spend my time actually ENJOYING my dream house! Sure there will always be minor tweaks made to the decor or furniture as the house grows along with us, but I refuse to constantly put off these major projects for who knows how long. Not to mention, I doubt that I will have the same kind of free time and money available if and when we decide to start a family.

So here is my new year’s resolution; spend at least one hour a day DOING something that will move my vision of my dream house forward.

Here’s my plan:

1) Spend at least one hour a day working on a home renovation project. Hence the blog name (h)our oakview.

2) Blog about each project to keep me accountable.

I consider this blog to be a personal journal, helping to keep me accountable as well as documenting everything  accomplished throughout the year.

Cheers to a great 2013 and to keeping all of our new year resolutions!ImageImage

Leave a Reply

